Read the information, listen and learn or repeat words and expressions about Australia.
(Lasi, klausies un iemācies vai atkārto dažus vārdus par Austrāliju!)
  • the Commonwealth of Australia or simply Australia
the Commonwealth of Australia — [ˈkɒm.ən.welθ əv .ɒsˈtreɪ.li.ə] — Austrālijas Savienība
Australia  — [ɒsˈtreɪ.li.ə] — Austrālija
  • Brief description of Australia
Australia is a sovereign country comprising the mainland of the Australian continent, the island of Tasmania, and numerous smaller islands. It is the largest country in Oceania and the world's sixth-largest country by total area. Australia's capital is Canberra, and its largest city is Sydney.
Indigenous Australians inhabited the continent for about 65,000 years prior to the first arrival of Dutch explorers in the early 17th century, who named it New Holland. In 1770, Australia's eastern half was claimed by Great Britain and initially settled through penal transportation to the colony of New South Wales from 26 January 1788, a date which became Australia's national day. The population grew steadily in subsequent decades, and by the time of an 1850s gold rush, most of the continent had been explored and an additional five self-governing crown colonies established. On 1 January 1901, the six colonies federated, forming the Commonwealth of Australia. Australia has since maintained a stable liberal democratic political system that functions as a federal parliamentary constitutional monarchy, comprising six states and ten territories. There is unique fauna and flora. There are some very rare animals and plats which are found only here in Tasmania.
Tasmania — [tæzˈmeɪ.ni.ə] — Tasmānija
tasmanian devil pix.jpg
Tasmanian devil — [tæzˌmeɪ.ni.ən ˈdev.əl] — Tasmānijas velns
  • The flag of Australia
The flag of Australia is based on a blue field with the Union Jack in the corner defaced with a large white seven-pointed star (the Commonwealth Star) and a representation of the Southern Cross constellation, made up of five white stars – one small five-pointed star and four, larger, seven-pointed stars.
The flag's original design (with a six-pointed Commonwealth Star) was chosen in 1901 but it was changed to a seven-pointed star in 1903 by King Edward VII.
 the flag of Australia — [ˌflæɡ əv.ɒsˈtreɪ.li.ə] — Austrālijas karogs
constellation pix.jpg
constellation — [ˌkɒn.stəˈleɪ.ʃən] — zvaigznājs
  • Canberra
Canberra is the capital city of Australia. Founded following the federation of the colonies of Australia as the seat of government for the new nation, it is Australia's largest inland city and the eighth-largest city overall. The city is located in the south-eastern part of the continent.
On 1 January 1901, federation of the colonies of Australia was achieved and the new Australian Constitution provided that land, situated in New South Wales and at least 100 miles (160 km) from Sydney, would be ceded to the new federal government. So, the capital city being founded and formally named as Canberra in 1913.
Canberra — [ˈkænbərə] — Kanbera
  • Language
Although Australia has no official language, English is the de facto national language. Australian English is a major variety of the language with a distinctive accent and lexicon, and differs slightly from other varieties of English in grammar and spelling
Australian English — [ɒsˈtreɪ.li.ən ˌɪŋ.ɡlɪʃ] — austrāliešu angļu valoda
  • Citizens
The first people to live in Australia is the Aborigines.
The first recorded European sighting of the Australian mainland, and the first recorded European landfall on the Australian continent (in 1606), are attributed to the Dutch. But the "First Fleet" from Great Britain to establish a new penal colony in New South Wales was set up and the flag raised at Sydney Cove, Port Jackson, on 26 January 1788, a date which later became Australia's national day, Australia Day. A British settlement was established in Van Diemen's Land, now known as Tasmania, in 1803, and it became a separate colony in 1825.
aborigine pix.jpg
Aborigine — [ˌæb.əˈrɪdʒ.ən.i] — aborigēns
Australian — [ɒsˈtreɪ.li.ən] — austrālietis, austrāliete