Read and learn about Yellowstone, Manhattan and the Grand Canyon.
(Lasi un mācies par Jeloustonu, Manhetenu un par Lielo kanjonu!)
  • Yellowstone
Yellowstone National Park is an American national park located in the western United States, with parts in Wyoming, Montana and Idaho. It was founded in 1872. Yellowstone was the first national park in the U.S. and is also widely held to be the first national park in the world. The park is known for its wildlife and its many geothermal features, especially Old Faithful geyser, one of its most popular. While it represents many types of biomes, the subalpine forest is the most abundant. Yellowstone National Park spans an area of 8983 km², comprising lakes, canyons, rivers and mountain ranges.
yellowstone1 pix.jpg
Yellowstone — [ ˈjel.əʊˌstəʊn] — Jeloustona
bison — [ˈbaɪ.sən] — bizons
  • Manhattan
Manhattan often referred to by residents of the New York City area as the City, is the most densely populated of the five boroughs of New York City. Manhattan serves as the city's economic and administrative center, cultural identifier, and historical birthplace.
Manhattan — [mænˈhætən] — Manhetena (Ņujorkas pilsētas rajons)
  • New York City
New York City, often called the City of New York or simply New York, is the most populous city in the United States. Situated on one of the world's largest natural harbors, New York City is composed of five boroughs, each of which is a county of the State of New York. The five boroughs – Brooklyn, Queens, Manhattan, the Bronx, and Staten Island – were consolidated into a single city in 1898. New York City traces its origins to a trading post founded by colonists from the Dutch Republic in 1624 on Lower Manhattan; the post was named New Amsterdam in 1626. The city and its surroundings came under English control in 1664 and were renamed New York after King Charles II of England granted the lands to his brother, the Duke of York. New York was the capital of the United States from 1785 until 1790, and has been the largest U.S. city since 1790.
manhattan pix.jpg
New York City — [ˌnjuː ˈjɔːk ˈsɪt.i] — Ņujorka (pilsēta)
  • Statue of Liberty
The Statue of Liberty is a colossal neoclassical sculpture on Liberty Island in New York Harbor in New York, in the United States. The copper statue, a gift from the people of France to the people of the United States, was designed by French sculptor Frédéric Auguste Bartholdi and its metal framework was built by Gustave Eiffel. The statue was dedicated on October 28, 1886. The statue is made of copper and it is 46 m tall, from foundation of pedestal (ground level) to tip of torch is 93 m.
statue-of-liberty-1 pix.jpg
the Statue of Liberty — [ˌstætʃ.uː əv ˈlɪb.ə.ti] — Brīvības statuja
torch — [tɔːtʃ] — lāpa, kabatas lukturītis
copper — [ˈkɒp.ər] — varš
  • The Empire State building
The Empire State Building is a 102-story Art Deco skyscraper in Manhattan, New York City. It was designed by Shreve, Lamb & Harmon and completed in 1931. The building has a roof height of 380 m and stands a total of 443.2 m tall, including its antenna. The Empire State Building stood as the world's tallest building until the construction of the World Trade Center in 1970. As of 2019, the building is the seventh-tallest building in New York City, the sixth-tallest completed skyscraper in the United States and the 45th-tallest in the world.
the Empire State Building — [ˈem.paɪər ˌsteɪt ˈbɪl.dɪŋ] — Impērijas Štata ēka
  • The Grand Canyon
The Grand Canyon is a steep-sided canyon carved by the Colorado River in Arizona, United States. The Grand Canyon is 446 km long, up to 29 km wide and attains a depth of over a kilometer (1857 meters).
grand vanyon1.jpg
the Grand Canyon — [ˌɡrænd ˈkæn.jən] — Lielais kanjons
Arizona — [ˌær.ɪˈzəʊ.nə] — Arizona (dienvidrietumu štats Savienotajās Valstīs)
the Colorado River — [ˌkɒl.ərˈɑː.dəʊ ˈrɪv.ər] — Kolorado upe