Read about amphibians, listen and learn some new words.
(Lasi par abiniekiem, klausies un mācies jaunos vārdiņus!)
Repeat the amphibians from the theme "Animals and Pets (3.-4.klasei)".
  • Amphibians
Amphibians are a class of animals like reptiles, mammals, and birds. They live the first part of their lives in the water and the last part on the land. When they hatch from their eggs, amphibians have gills so they can breathe in the water. They also have fins to help them swim, just like fish. Later, their bodies change, growing legs and lungs enabling them to live on the land. The word "amphibian" means two-lives, one in the water and one on land. 
Like fish and reptiles, amphibians are cold-blooded. This means their bodies don't automatically regulate their temperature. They must cool off and warm up by using their surroundings.
amphibian — [æmˈfɪb.i.ən] — abinieks
Most amphibians hatch from eggs. After they hatch, their bodies are still in the larvae stage. In this stage they are very fish like. They have gills to breathe under water and fins to swim with. As they grow older, their bodies undergo changes called metamorphosis. They can grow lungs to breathe air and limbs for walking on the ground. The transformation isn't the same in all amphibians, but most species go through some sort of metamorphosis.
  • Stages of a Frog Life
  • 1) after hatching the frog is a tadpole with a tail and gills
tadpole — [ˈtæd.pəʊl] — kurkulis
  • 2) it becomes a tadpole with two legs
tadpoles3 pix.jpg
  • 3) a tadpole with four legs and a long tail
  • 4) a froglet with a short tail
froglet — [ˈfrɒɡlət] — vardīte
  • 5) a full grown frog
frog pix.jpg
frog — [frɒɡ] — varde